Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Australian Surfing Awards - Hall of Fame

Hi from Gold Coast,
Stephanie Gilmore being inducted into the Hall of Fame. Photo:

It’s been a busy couple of weeks with two big awards ceremonies and the hype surrounding the first WCT events of the year, the Quiksilver Pro and Roxy Pro’s here on the Gold Coast.

This gallery is all about the  50 year Anniversary of Surfing Australia and the Australian Surfing Awards which incorporate the Hall of Fame Awards It was a black tie function held in the Darling Harbor region of Sydney attended by Australia's surfing royalty, politicians and leading industry figures.
Mark Richards and Deputy Prime Minister Wayne Swan. Photo

Four times World Champion Mark Richards was named Australia’s Most Influential Surfer 1963-2013. The  Top 10, in order of votes received from the public and the Hall of Fame members, was: Mark Richards, Simon Anderson, Nat Young, Michael ‘MP’ Peterson, Midget Farrelly, Tom Carroll, Layne Beachley, Wayne ‘Rabbit’ Bartholomew, Mark Occhilupo and Bob McTavish.

Five times Women’s World Surfing Champion, Stephanie Gilmore was inducted into the Hall of Fame as well as receiving the award as Female Surfer if the Year while 2012 World Surfing Champion Joel Parkinson was the Male Surfer of the Year.

I was honored to take out the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year award with a shot of Mark Healey’s surfboard stuck in the lip of the a Cloudbreak monster shot during that massive swell last June. It’s the second time in four years that I’ve received the Award and I can tell you I was stoked.

Peter 'Joli Wilson-The proud owner of a new Nikon D4. Photo by mrsjoli

Here’s the list of awards handed out during the night:


Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee: Stephanie Gilmore
Australia’s Most Influential Surfer 1963-2013: Mark Richards
Male Surfer of the Year: Joel Parkinson
Female Surfer of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore
Rising Star: Jack Freestone
Waterman of the Year: Jamie Mitchell
ASB Surfing Spirit Award: Misfit Aid
Peter Troy Lifestyle Award: Bob Smith
Surf Culture Award: The Reef - by the Australian Chamber Orchestra and Tura New Music
Simon Anderson Club Award: Kirra Surfriders Club
Nikon Surf Movie of the Year: Storm Surfers 3D
Nikon Surf Photo of the Year: Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson

1 comment: